AAPEX 2021 honours shop owners, techs, service advisors

by | Nov 5, 2021 | 0 comments

AAPEX 2021 second annual Service and Repair Awards recognize and elevate the essential services provided by shop owners, technicians and service advisors to keep the motoring public on the road, even during challenging times.

The recipients of the AAPEX Shop Owner of the Year award are Jamie and Eric Carlson, co-owners of Ervine’s Auto Repair & Grand Rapids Hybrid and EV, Grand Rapids, Mich. 

Jamie and Eric Carlson

With 28 years in business, Eric is an ASE Certified Master Technician (A1-A8) and L1 Automobile Advanced Engine Performance, L3 Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle certification. Eric’s technical skill, vision and drive have kept the shop evolving along with technological advancements in the industry.

This included opening of Grand Rapids Hybrid and EV about 10 years ago. Jamie has two primary goals that drive her efforts in advertising, customer service, recruiting and HR. One is to ensure all motorists, knowledgeable or not about their vehicle, can rest assured they have professionals who are looking out for their best interest. Simultaneously, she aims to elevate the status of the professionals who choose a career in this industry. Eric and Jamie work daily to create an environment that is enjoyable, rewarding and lets employees know their talent, skill and work ethic are valued; also that employee success and sense of fulfillment in this industry is a priority. Ervine’s Auto Repair & Grand Rapids Hybrid and EV are members of several industry organizations, including the Auto Care Association. Eric and Jamie are involved in WorldPac Smart Groups and Women In Auto Care, and are mentors of the Young Auto Care Network Group (YANG). They also serve on the board of Grand Rapids Community College’s Automotive Steering Committee. “The kind people we are privileged to work for and the outstanding employees we work with make us so grateful for our daily work life. This extremely high honour is icing on the cake,” said the Carlsons.  

The recipient of the AAPEX Technician of the Year award is Matt Fanslow, lead diagnostician and shop manager, Riverside Automotive, Red Wing, Minn.

Matt Fanslow

He has a 27-year background in the automotive industry and is an ASE Master Certified Technician (A1-A8) and an L1 Automobile Advanced Engine Performance Specialist. Fanslow invests 80-plus hours a year in training and hundreds of hours of additional reading and research of SAE documents and journals.

He also has his own podcast, Matt Fanslow Diagnosing the Aftermarket A to Z. “It is humbling to think that anyone would think to nominate me, and very much an honor. Winning is somewhat difficult to wrap my head around as there are so many deserving technicians in the field who remain in the shadows to the rest of the profession. One doesn’t achieve recognition or awards all by themselves. The list of people who have helped me and continue to help me along the way is very, very long and I so very much appreciate all of them,” said Fanslow.

The AAPEX Service Advisor of the Year is awarded to Brittany Schindler, service manager, Rod’s Japanese Auto Care, Bellingham, Wash.

Brittany Schindler

Schindler has been in the industry for 11 years and has earned the ASE C1 Service Consultant Certification. She annually completes 100 hours of training, has trained multiple service advisors and teaches at the Automotive Training Institute (ATI). “Wow, I am absolutely honoured to receive this amazing award! I was a little speechless when I received the call telling me that I won! This is a huge, huge deal for me; I mean this is AAPEX, it’s crazy! I am so excited that I get to always have this title under my belt. Thank you to my dad, my coaches and my mentors. I wouldn’t be the service advisor I am today without them!” said Schindler.

Nominees for the AAPEX Service and Repair Awards were judged by an independent panel of shop owners and industry leaders. Nominees were evaluated based on their commitment to training and ASE certification; local, community, charitable and industry involvement; diagnostic, teamwork and mentoring skills; and personal and professional qualities.

This year’s award-winners were recognized during the AAPEX Keynote Session on Nov. 2 at the Sands Expo in Las Vegas.

Visit aapexshow.com.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *